Sherlock BBC – A Biased Review

Why is this review biased? I started reading Sherlock Holmes from when I was a little kid. And man, did he blow me away. Arthur Conan Doyle created a character, who made him famous, earned him tons of money and eventually superseded him to such an extent that after ‘The Final Problem‘, the story in which he killed Sherlock Holmes, the public clamored for his revival with such vehemence, that they literally forced Doyle to bring HIM back. Needless to say, I am going to be blatantly biased in favor of this show.

Image

Hey, My name is Sherlock Holmes and I am a perfect badass.

             Now, the actual show itself. I was sold from the moment Sherlock, played by the perfectly chosen Benedict Cumberbach, said “The name is Sherlock Holmes, and the address is 221B Baker Street”. My god, I don’t know how, the on screen adaptation of Sherlock Holmes BBC is spot on. Obviously there has to be changes. We are talking about a converting a series of 56 short stories and 4 novels set around the turn of the 19th century to the modern cellphone clutching, social media dependent, continually vibrant present. And thus Sherlock is reborn as a narcissistic, ‘highly functioning sociopath’ as he calls himself. “I’m a consulting detective, the only one in the world.” he says, in response to John’s question about what he does.

          Ah, John. I want to personally congratulate Steven Moffat and Mark Gatiss for casting such perfect characters. John Watson, reincarnates from the portly assistant surgeon, veteran of the afghan war,in the book to a modern army doctor, with a psychosomatic limp, back from Afghanistan. And man, what an army doctor.

I am not his date.

I am not his date.

                   The man is courageous, upright and definitely not a pushover, but ends up catering to Sherlock’s every whim. Their dynamic works so brilliantly it is unbelievable. The scene in ‘The Study in Pink’ where Sherlock analyses Watson in the cab ride on their way to their first crime scene is so…so…well I’ll be honest, so fast. I had to replay the scene thrice to catch everything he said. But that is how Sherlock is, the man’s thought processes are simply too fast for him to even coherently articulate them.

Mycroft Holmes, played by Mark Gatiss, is above par. Calm, stolid, yet exuding waves of intellectualism.

                       The most amazing part of the show is the number of effects used and how they convey how Sherlock’s mind works. At no place does it seem tacky or contrived. How can you see this and not be impressed.

firstsecond

Meanwhile, Watson tells Sherlock, “People don’t have arch enemies. In real life. There are no arch enemies in real life. Doesn’t happen”.

“Doesn’t it?”Replies Sherlock, “Sounds a bit dull”

                       Well, Mr.Sherlock, two episodes later you are about to meet the dude who can blow up NATO in alphabetical order a.k.a this guy.

Honey, you should see me in a crown.

Honey, you should see me in a crown.

Okay, Let me be honest, I was not impressed with Moriarty at first. Well, I did get only 5 minutes of him in the first season. I felt he wasn’t how I imagined him to be from the book. He was just this ordinary guy, a frail looking person who didn’t seem that intimidating. I had envisioned a man who would be purely intellectual, a slightly older person, one who exuded an air of fear and authority.  And then came the second season. And I realised that they had given me someone so much better.

"I owe you a fall, Sherlock"

“I owe you a fall, Sherlock”

Moriarty is in one word, Psychotic. As you watch the ‘Reichenbach Fall’ you realise that Sherlock is dealing with a man who whose mind is not only twisted, but actually sprained. A person who can go to the extent of actually destroying the very name and image of another is well and truly a formidable Arch-Nemesis. Moriarty truly burns Sherlock, as he promised. I mean, the man shot himself for god’s sake. Andrew Scott, what an actor.

Irene Adler, what a women. Sure she’s not as pretty as Rachel McAdams in the ‘Sherlock Holmes’ movie. But she sure as hell is not as floozy. The Irene Adler in Sherlock BBC is a dominatrix. A role Lara Pulver played extremely well. The woman’s intelligence just shines through. The scenes with her and Sherlock with just crackle with tension. And yet no physical contact throughout.

I am not dead. Let's have dinner.

I am not dead. Let’s have dinner.

The episode ‘A Scandal In Belgravia’ is really one of the most mind blowing episodes of the entire Sherlock series. It  is second only to, obviously, ‘The Reichenbach Fall’. And I just cannot wait for ‘Season Three’ which is releasing on Jan 1st.

Meanwhile, long back I had created a video trying to explain Sherlock’s death. Here it is.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xZJKtBQphHg.

Please be kind.

About

Frustrated individual in a world with lots and lots of other similarly frustrated individuals.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Reviews

Leave a Reply

Give me your email ID so that you can get my posts sent to you by email. Do it now! Go Go Go!

Follow ramblingsofa20yearold on WordPress.com
