Modern Cartoons: What The F?

Too long. Too long have I seen the travesty that people call cartoons nowadays. Too long have I just sat back while kids suffer through hackneyed shows, unaware of what they are missing out. I am talking about Cartoon Network, Nickelodeon, Pogo, Disney Channel and several other channels. Now why would I, a 21 year old guy be bothered about cartoons? I normally wouldn’t. But then some day’s back an incident happened which shocked me into realizing the harsh reality of the situation. I was at a relative’s place. And his 3 year old daughter came in while we were talking and asked to see something called ‘Chota Bheem’. I wondered what that was. He switched on the TV and turned to Pogo. And I saw the crappiest animation I have ever seen. The characters were like little stick figures with almost no flexibility, dialogue was inane and stupid, plot was non-existent and the entire thing looked like it was designed to be played to prisoners in solitary confinement for torturing purposes. Pogo shows this for close to 8 hours every day. It’s apparently the no.1 kid’s show, closely competing with ‘Doraemon’.

Seriously. WHAT THE FUCK!!?

When did ThisImage

Become THIS?Image

Maybe this is why the younger kids seem so bored in life. I miss those weekends. Where I could spend an entire afternoon watching the Toon Olympics or Spongebob Squarepants or Speed Racer. I miss those times during my 3rd or 4th or 5th or 6th standards when I would eagerly come home just to catch the latest episode of Swatkats or Ninja Robots or Transformers. I wanted to be the Mask. I wanted to go to the future and meet the Jetsons. I wanted to vanquish evil like Samurai Jack. I wanted a secret lab like Jimmy Newtron or Dextor’s Laboratory. Those cartoons formed an integral part of my childhood and I am sure it did yours too. I don’t want the next generation to settle for mediocrity and moral lessons. I am sure they get enough of that from their parents. I want them, at least in their preteen years to have a world they could get lost in, trapped only by their imagination. But that’s not going to happen is it? I guess the best thing to say is that they don’t know what they are missing. I pray for their souls.

About

Frustrated individual in a world with lots and lots of other similarly frustrated individuals.

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in humor

Leave a Reply

Give me your email ID so that you can get my posts sent to you by email. Do it now! Go Go Go!

Follow ramblingsofa20yearold on WordPress.com
