Why is Tetanus still injected in the ass!?

So i scratched my forefinger on this stupid nail on the side of my friends scooter with whom I was riding pillion when he went over a particularly well formed pot-hole. So i came home like its no big deal. (okay there was slight wincing, hey I was leaking blood). So my mom reacts in a typical way, doesn’t react much, calmly tells me to wash it off with some dettol and not worry about it, I do so and then go watch TV.NOT! This is an indian mom we are talking about, and a bengali one at that. Over protectiveness doesn’t exist in their vocabulary. OVER PROTECTIVENESS does. So my mom goes ballistic. “……NAIL!?….TETANUS….24 HOURS!….”. The gist of what she was saying was I had to go get a shot from the hospital down the main road. So i set out on my scooter. I get there, tell the solitary nurse at the barely populated hospital, and then wait with a bored expression till she gets the shot. She tells me to get on the stretcher thing. I roll my sleeve and wait. Its just a stupid injection on the arm, i tell myself. She gives me a perplexed look and tells me to lie down. i lie down, naively thinking, ‘this is a weird position to give me a shot in the arm’. Then she says, “face the wall”. Comprehension dawns. Holy-Mother-Of-God-Holy-Shit-What-The-Hell-Is-Going-On-Noooooooooooooo!. I politely ask, “But cant you give it to me in the arm…?”.”No no no, turn around”, she says, grinning, actually grinning as she says this. I turn around and hope for the best. 1 agonizing minute later the deed is done. And I go home on my scooter shifting in discomfort and cursing the jackass who invented the procedure.

About

Frustrated individual in a world with lots and lots of other similarly frustrated individuals.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in humor

Leave a Reply

Give me your email ID so that you can get my posts sent to you by email. Do it now! Go Go Go!

Follow ramblingsofa20yearold on WordPress.com
